Generali, a responsible insurance provider

Generali made sustainable development principles an integral part of its business as early as in the early 2000s. The company supports initiatives that help build a more responsible society. Since the early 2000s, Generali has been leading awareness and research activities on environmental issues, such as Jean-Louis Etienne’s 2010 expedition over the Arctic Ocean. As part of its partnership established with the Ballon de Paris in 2013, Generali funds research on air pollution and its consequences on health in partnership with the CNRS and Airparif on board the aircraft.

Offering guarantees and benefits to encourage responsible behavior

Working with the 800,000 professionals and SMEs that make up its core clientele in France, Generali developed an innovative diagnostic method (“Generali Performance Globale”). This method aims to help business owners manage risks by taking sustainable development issues into account, such as reducing environmental impacts, integrating social and human factors in activity management, etc.

Companies and professionals who are most committed to active sustainability policies receive a certification of excellence for risk management and corporate social responsibility (CSR) as well as special assistance.

A new way to manage financial and real estate assets

Generali realized in the early 2000s that it had a responsibility as an investor to act in a positive way to limit the impacts of its investments. As of late 2017, Generali France had already invested EUR245 million in green bonds. The Generali Group holds socially responsible investment funds worth EUR37.2 billion.

For its real estate holdings, Generali was among the first insurers to launch a green building approach. The company chose to make quality and environmental performance a priority. In 2017, Generali Real Estate, the group’s real-estate subsidiary, received the Green Star for its participation in the GRESB Index, which assesses CSR actions of real estate companies.

 

Developing an active social responsibility policy

Generali works at various levels (associations, businesses, sports clubs, etc.) to encourage initiatives in favor of solidarity, equal opportunities and the respect of environmental balance and biodiversity.

 

In 2017, the Generali Group launched The Human Safety Net, a foundation dedicated to supporting the world’s most vulnerable communities.. In France, two programs were started: one provides assistance for people with refugee status looking to start their own businesses, while the other promotes equal opportunities for disadvantaged young people.

Generali France has lent its support to the Entrepreneurs d’avenir (Entrepreneurs of the future) movement since it was created in 2009. Today, it brings together more than 800 business owners who want to combine economic results with social responsibility.

In 2010, Generali created its Charte du Sport responsable (Responsible sport charter) to encourage the signatory sports federations and clubs to promote and make sports accessible to everyone, find jobs and new careers for athletes and limit their environmental impact.

Last, Generali supports the Association Santé Environnement France (ASEF) , which works to develop knowledge about the ties between health and the environment. ASEF brings together nearly 2,500 physicians and deals with all issues having an impact on public health and the environment: air quality, electromagnetic waves, biodiversity, nutrition and more.


Website : www.generali.fr
Follow Generali France on Twitter : @generalifrance

Generali, assureur responsable

Generali a intégré les principes de développement durable au coeur de son activité dès le début des années 2000. Dans ce cadre, la Compagnie encourage les initiatives qui participent à construire une société plus responsable. Depuis le début des années 2000, Generali a mené des actions de sensibilisation et de recherche autour des questions environnementales, comme l’expédition de Jean-Louis Etienne au-dessus de l’océan Arctique en 2010 . Dans le cadre du partenariat noué avec le Ballon de Paris en 2013, Generali finance les recherches sur la pollution de l’air et ses répercussions sur la santé en partenariat avec le CNRS et AirParif à bord de l’aéronef.

Proposer des garanties et avantages encourageant les comportements responsables

C’est auprès des PME et des professionnels qui constituent le cœur de sa clientèle avec 800.000 professionnels et entreprises assurées en France que Generali a développé dès 2006 une méthode novatrice de diagnostic («Generali Performance Globale») pour accompagner les entrepreneurs dans leur maîtrise de risques en intégrant les enjeux du développement durable (réduction des impacts environnementaux, prise en compte des facteurs sociaux et humains dans la gestion de l’activité…).

Les entreprises et les professionnels les plus engagés dans des politiques actives de développement durable bénéficient d’une labellisation d’excellence en matière de gestion des risques et de Responsabilité Sociale et Environnementale (RSE) et d’un accompagnement spécifique.

Faire évoluer la gestion des actifs financiers  et immobiliers

Generali a pris conscience dès les années 2000 de sa responsabilité en tant qu’investisseur pouvant agir positivement afin de limiter les impacts de ses placements. A fin 2017, Generali France investit 245 millions d’euros en obligations vertes. Le montant des fonds ISR (Investissements socialement responsables) du groupe Generali s’élèvent à 37,2 milliards d’euros.

En matière d’immobilier, Generali a été parmi les premiers assureurs à initier une démarche green building. La Compagnie a fait le choix de la qualité et de la performance environnementale. En 2017, Generali Real Estate, filiale immobilière du groupe, s’est vue attribué la Green Star dans le cadre de sa participation à l’indice GRESB, qui évalue les performances RSE des sociétés du secteur immobilier.

 

Développer une politique active d’engagements sociétaux

Generali s’attache à encourager sur différents terrains (associations, entreprises, clubs sportifs…) des actions de solidarité, d’égalité des chances, et de respect des équilibres environnementaux et de la biodiversité.

 

Le groupe Generali a lancé en 2017 The Human Safety Net, fondation dédiée à l’accompagnement des communautés les plus vulnérables dans le monde. En France, deux programmes ont été lancés : l’aide aux personnes bénéficiant d’un statut de réfugiés et souhaitant se lancer dans l’entreprenariat et la promotion de l’égalité des chances des jeunes enfants issus de milieux défavorisés.

Generali France soutient le mouvement des Entrepreneurs d’avenir depuis sa création en 2009 qui rassemble aujourd’hui plus de 800 chefs d’entreprises qui veulent conjuguer performance économique et responsabilité sociétale.

En 2010, Generali a lancé la Charte du Sport responsable qui encourage les fédérations et clubs signataires à favoriser l’accessibilité du sport à tous, agir pour l’insertion et la reconversion des sportifs et limiter leur impact environnemental.

Enfin, Generali soutient l’association Santé Environnement France (ASEF) dont la vocation est de développer la connaissance sur les liens entre la santé et l’environnement.  L’ASEF rassemble près de 2500 médecins  et travaille sur tous les sujets liant santé et environnement : qualité de l’air, ondes électromagnétiques, biodiversité, alimentation…


Site Internet : www.generali.fr
Suivez Generali France sur Twitter : @generalifrance